Mervue Equine Leinster Tour Final 2022

01 Sep Mervue Equine Leinster Tour Final 2022

The Mervue Equine Leinster Summer Tour came to an exciting conclusion last weekend as Warrington Equestrian played host to finalists. For the first time ever the final was a stand Alone show and was well supported with close to 200 entries over the three divisions. Along with the cash prizes there was also a Bertram Allen Bursary up for grabs, as well as a tour and luncheon to Karlswood.

In the final of the 1.35m section, 45 combinations went to post and from those, 16 proceed to the  jump-off. This league was very much up for grabs with three riders in contention. LT. James Whyte and Carrigoran were top of the leaderboard on 29 points, followed by Taylor Peare and Lissegan Geoffery on 26 and in third place was Brendan Murphy on PNP Rocco on 23 points. With Whyte and Brendan Murphy both securing a place in the jump-off, the league came down to the wire.

Following an exciting jump-off, Brendan Murphy took the win PNP Rocco, but with Whyte and Carrigoran securing fifth place they did enough to take the overall title, by just one point.

Murphy and the Ashley Stephen’s owned PNP Rocco, took the win when they crossed the line clear in 36.46. Kilkenny native, Seamus Hughes Kennedy was almost a second behind with the eight-year-old Castlefield Hera, when clear in 37.50 for second place and with it claimed the young rider prize of the round.Fellow Kilkenny rider, Molly Hughes Bravo answered all the questions with HHS Vancouver in 38.40 for third place.

A clear for Aimee Barry and Garryndruig Limoncello in 39.02 saw them slot into fourth place. LT. James Whyte knew that he needed to finish in this line-up, and he made no mistakes with Carrigoran as he delivered a clear in 39.92 for fifth place. Completing the top six line-up was Jackilynn Breslin and Castlefield Miss, clear in 40.34. Although Taylor Peare failed to feature in the top six, she did enough to claim the overall young rider prize aboard Lissyegan Geoffrey.

In the 1.20m division, 85 combinations battled it out and 43 delivered double clears in the two phase special class. Taking the overall title was Aileen McDermot and Amber Balou, while Gillian Bond and Vicomte DH Z took the runner-up prize. It was also very close in this league, with only two points separating McDermott and Bond. In the end with amateur rider McDermott (AA) slotting into third place in the line-up with Amber Balou, when clear in 30.24 and Bond finishing down the line, McDermott took the 2022 title. Winner of the class on the day was Jackilynn Breslin and the Jim O’ Neill owned Castlefield Cass, clear in 29.72. Junior rider Robin Carey took the runner-up spot and the young rider prize with the seven-year-old Luicruz, in 29.83. Marta Hughes Bravo took fourth place with Miss Belgium III, when they clocked 30.24, ahead of Brendan Murphy and Castlelawn Diamond Junior, in 30.69. Sixth place belonged to Aoife Dooley and Cavalier Teaca, when they came home in 31.38. Claiming the overall young rider prize was Emily Moloney and Capitol Cruis. Earlier in the month, Moloney was crowned junior young rider in the Junior and young rider championships in Cavan.

It was very close in the 1.10m division with Marie Hartley and Nikita Van Het Heidenhof having a five point lead on the leaderboard ahead of her closest rival,  Aileen McDermott and Amber Balou. In the end, with McDermott and Amber Balou securing the final win, when clear in 23.94 and Hartley and Nikita Van Het Heidenhof finishing in seventh place, McDermott secured her second title of the day, leaving Hartley to take the reserve.

Runner-up on the day was Lisa Doyle and Corland’s Clipper when they delivered a clear in 24.47, ahead of Laura Walshe and Ballinaguilkey Heritage, clear in 25.40. Fourth place was filled by Michael O’ Neill and Take A Gamble, clear in 25.99. Marie Hartley did not go home too disappointed as she also took fifth place with Scarthill Vendi, when they kept all the poles in place in 26.03. Completing the top six, was Niamh Walsh and Amaretto Flight, clear in 26.18. The overall young rider prize went to Emma O’Connor and Quality Diamond.